Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Humanities Access Course Difficulty?

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

Hi, I'm studying humanities at access this coming year. I have AS levels although they're C's and an A. I was a straight A student until I was placed in an inpatient unit and things did not go well from there.

What advice would you give an access student? What's the workload like- specifically how difficult. Also, do top universities accept access passes?

Yes, virtually all the top universities including Oxford and Cambridge accept Access courses. What were you hoping to study?

I haven't done one myself but I understand students on Access courses study a new subject/topic and write an essay on it almost every week, so you need to be very organised to keep up with the pace.

hi! I think I can help answer some of your questions.

I was in the same boat as you, all As and A*s at GCSEs before leaving school. With that level of academic ability, it's certainly possible to get top marks on an Access course providing you manage your time well and attend all your lessons etc. Oxford and Cambridge ask for 45 units at distinction, which basically means you need top marks on all graded units. Depending on your course, most of the 'top tier' unis ask for between 15 and 30 distinctions. I'm pursuing Oriental Studies and my offers ranged from just pass the course (Oxford Brookes) to 15 distinctions/30 merits (Manchester) to 30 distinctions/15 merits (Leeds and SOAS) and 45 distinctions (Oxford). Knowing what grades you'll need and striving for the best from the beginning of the course is a great motivator.

We did five subjects (english lit, politics, sociology, psychology, and law) and had three units for each of them, as well as three units for 'study skills' which assessed your writing ability, presentation ability, etc.