The Student Room Group

Second car - need advice please

I've currently got a 1L Peugeot 107 which I've now owned for a year. I'm wondering whether to change to something different as I've never really loved the car. I don't have a whole lot of money but could muster up maybe £4000-5000 in the next month or two after selling my car.

I'm a student so I need something cheap to insure, cheap to tax and cheap to run. These reasons are why I got the Peugeot 107 in the first place but I'm willing to spend more on insurance and tax for something which is a little bit more padded out if you know what I mean. I feel very vulnerable when driving my current car.

I've always wanted a Mini Cooper or Fiat 500 so I'm leaning towards one of those. Does anyone have any advice or suggestions? I'm also wanting to get an automatic.
Stick with what you have got. After spending £4 - £5k on a new car and insurance you will still have four wheels, an engine and a means of getting from A to B. If money is tight, don't bother burning it on a car. Go and have a nice holiday instead. Even the best cars in the world still have to queue up on the M25 like everyone else.

Have fun!
Reply 2
Original post by Sparkliest
I've currently got a 1L Peugeot 107 which I've now owned for a year. I'm wondering whether to change to something different as I've never really loved the car. I don't have a whole lot of money but could muster up maybe £4000-5000 in the next month or two after selling my car.

I'm a student so I need something cheap to insure, cheap to tax and cheap to run. These reasons are why I got the Peugeot 107 in the first place but I'm willing to spend more on insurance and tax for something which is a little bit more padded out if you know what I mean. I feel very vulnerable when driving my current car.

I've always wanted a Mini Cooper or Fiat 500 so I'm leaning towards one of those. Does anyone have any advice or suggestions? I'm also wanting to get an automatic.