Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Do you need a laptop for engineering?

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

I am currently using a HP Pavilion g6 i3 and I was wondering if I should get a new laptop for university. Thank you!

I think i would wait until you could identify a specific need - i.e. somewhere that your current PC was deficient, and that would justify the expenditure. When i was an undergraduate, i had to take either an economics course, or a history course to graduate. My undergrad school required two semesters of one or the other. I had one of each. I decided upon the economics course. Unfortunately, the textbook was $55. I was working my way through school, working as a lab assistant in electrical engineering. $55 was about 2 weeks pay for me. I decided that i would wait until i REALLY needed the textbook before i bought it, as i had the old book i had used for my first semester's course in economics - and it was written for a 2 semester course. Well, it turned out that i never did need the other textbook, as the old one covered the second semester course material pretty well. When i told the prof that i'd never bought the book, he was amazed. You may find the same thing on your computer. With the speed at which computer hardware is advancing, what you buy today will be obsolete by the time you graduate. Best of luck in your studies. Cheers.

An i3 should be fine, if not your uni should have computers with i5s or i7s which will do a better job. The main advantage of having a laptop for engineering is the portability of that kind of power, so it's not necessary but it's nice to have. I'd wait and see what the facilities are like and how often you need to use demanding programs which are available for you to download on your own computer before making the investment though.