Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Should I apply to Oxford?

University Navigation

Announcements Posted on
Last day to win £100 of Amazon vouchers - don't miss out! Take our quick survey to enter 24-10-2016
  • View Poll Results: Should I apply to Oxford?
    Yes after taking a gap year

I am an international student currently doing IB abroad in a boarding school.
    I have always been fascinated by sciences and my sheer devotion to them will never diminish (no matter what)! Being inquisitive, science seemed always appealing to me.

Consequently, I have decided to study biology or biochemistry since I thought it will satisfy my interests. I am a hardworking student that likes nothing but science (literally...maybe this sounds cheesy........but I am serious) It is my passion, my dream my love!

I choose to pursue my dream in UK since I think the general undergraduate system suits me the most (facilities, tutoring etc.) By putting immense hard work in numerous competitions, projects and school work I came a wee bit closer to something that seemed unimaginable to me: studying at Oxford.

Here is the thing..During my IB DP1 I was consistently working and my results were promising, giving me the possibility to achieve a perfect score for my predicted grades. In my mock exams I screwed badly, when I say badly I mean very badly (not in biology and math tho ) because of my weakness in health that did not allow me to "shine".As a result of my bad mock results I think that I am going to just scrap the requirement for Biological sciences (39/42). My teachers and admission staff at my school are not being supportive at all. Since they want to put effort only in these top-notch students (42/42).