Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Social Work as a second degree, first degree finished without honours.

Announcements Posted on
Last day to win £100 of Amazon vouchers - don't miss out! Take our quick survey to enter 24-10-2016

I found it a little tricky to find any information about funding for second degrees and I've seen a lot of varied replies with some people saying they got funding and some saying you won't get funding if you have an honours degree already etc.

I finished a degree recently but due to personal circumstances I didn't pass my dissertation. I'm incredibly disappointed with myself because up until then I never failed a single module and now I have finished with an ordinary degree with no classification, looking online I've seen some say it's basically worse than getting a third. So I have no honours degree and can't do postgraduate study because I need an honours degree onto any post grad course. I asked my Uni (BCU) if there was any chance I could resist the term or the year as I've known people in other Universities (Wolverhampton and UOB) be able to resist the year but they "changed the regulations" and I was just withdrawn from the course and told they could do nothing for me.

I just wanted to know if I were to begin a new degree would I get funding? I was funded for three years on my previous course and I've seen some say you only get a total of four years but I don't know if that's per application.

If that's impossible is there any way you can top-up an ordinary degree to an honours degree?

I know my questions might seem a little silly but I'm out of options and I don't have £27,000 at hand to study again.

I just see a lot of people saying ordinary degrees are not worth much and I don't know what to do.

Thanks in advance,