Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Cardiff Uni v Nottingham Trent (Law and Law Enforcement.

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016
REMINDER: Do not post your personal statement on TSR, otherwise you may have to rewrite it from scratch. Click here for more info. 11-10-2016

Hello. :-)

So, I'm an access student who has a bit of a problem.

Originally speaking, I wanted to be a police officer, but not just a bobby. I wanted to get a relevant qualification that would allow me to grow in the police force and possibly enter the NCA. I also want to get a Masters Degree so whilst I'm working in Police volunteering, I can get a fantastic education that will help me with my career.

I figured Law would be the best, as it's probably better to know the Law than study criminology because I've heard horror stories from Humanities graduates who struggle to find work after their degree. I figured that if push came to shove after graduating with Law, that I could at least make a decent living working at a Law firm or possibly the CPS.

Here's the problem:

1) I applied to Cardiff University to study Law (LLB) with Criminology, however, my grades didn't cover it and they gave me an unconditional offer to study Criminology and Sociology with no mention of a BS or qualification (can't even find the qualification name on the website. However, if I were successful in my studies, then there is the chance to do a GDL at the cost of an extra year which would further qualify me with an LLB along with a Criminology degree from a reputable Russell Group University.