Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Studying Math in North America

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

I'm a UK university student considering a study abroad year (I study mathematics) and my friend just completed a year in Canada studying econ, but he said a lot of math students he spoke to complained about the style of teaching (not that it is bad, just that it was different to UK style and was hard to adapt to).So my question is, how are you taught over there? Do you get access to past papers? Do you get a lot of (preferably good) examples, and a lot of practice question? Do you have workshops with tutors where you go through questions and they help if required?These are the types of questions I'd like answered, thanks.Please state how you know about the teaching styles (from first hand experience or from friends etc etc) Thanks

(Original post by irelandd)
    So my question is, how are you taught over there? Do you get access to past papers? Do you get a lot of (preferably good) examples, and a lot of practice question?
    Hey there,

First of all, good effort on saying "Math" in the title opposed to "Maths" - you'll fit right into North America.

I've only got experience of the teaching in the US, so what I'm going to say may not be completely relevant to Canada. The education systems are more similar than with the UK, but others may give better insight into the specifics of Canada.