The Student Room Group

I feel useless :(

My goal in life is to become a teacher, however so many people say that it's a terrible career choice and I kinda agree. Teachers don't get enough respect and their salary isn't that great either.

But the thing is there's nothing else I'm interested in doing. I've looked into children's nursing/paediactric but I'm not good with blood and other weird bodily stuff. I've also looked into being a educational psychologist but there's too many psychology theory behind it which I'm not that interested in.

I don't know what to do
Original post by Anonymous
My goal in life is to become a teacher, however so many people say that it's a terrible career choice and I kinda agree. Teachers don't get enough respect and their salary isn't that great either.

But the thing is there's nothing else I'm interested in doing. I've looked into children's nursing/paediactric but I'm not good with blood and other weird bodily stuff. I've also looked into being a educational psychologist but there's too many psychology theory behind it which I'm not that interested in.

I don't know what to do

Do what you want i.e become a teacher and if you are good at it you should enjoy it. Try and get some work experience and that should help you make your choice plus talk to other teachers at all stages.
Don't listen to other people, if you would like to be a teacher then go for it. I think that there are positives and negatives to every profession but as long as you are happy that's what matters. Individuals thrive when they are working for their own enjoyment rather than money making. Would have to agree with the post above about the work experience, this will tell you if this career is right for you.

I don't know what to do

The reason why you feel "useless" is because you're letting OTHERS decide on YOUR future.

Posted from TSR Mobile

I don't know what to do