The Student Room Group

how to become a diplomat?

i'm a 17 year old boy interested in a career in international affairs.
I'm studying geography, history and english lit at a level then taking a gap year to australia.
after the gap year I'm not sure whether to go to uni or get a job.
then i found jobs at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and this fast stream process they offer whereby they give civil service jobs to graduates.
only problem is they only accept up to 1000 applications, and there's usually tens of thousands applying.
so my question is how do i stand out from all the other applications? if i don't get in, how else can i enter diplomacy? what's it like being a diplomat? thanks
The fast stream is the only route into the foreign office that I know of. But you should be aware that working for the FCO office/working in foreign embassies doesn't make you a diplomat, you'd be a civil servant.
Original post by cosmo321
i'm a 17 year old boy interested in a career in international affairs.
I'm studying geography, history and english lit at a level then taking a gap year to australia.
after the gap year I'm not sure whether to go to uni or get a job.
then i found jobs at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and this fast stream process they offer whereby they give civil service jobs to graduates.
only problem is they only accept up to 1000 applications, and there's usually tens of thousands applying.
so my question is how do i stand out from all the other applications? if i don't get in, how else can i enter diplomacy? what's it like being a diplomat? thanks

Get into a good uni, do extra curricular activities that build character and leadership skills, travel, learn a language, get some work experience/internships under your belt, kick ass in your degree. Apply with a strong, mistake free application - practice for any tests that may come up in the process If you get an interview, prep like hell for it. Bada bing bada boom, you're in.