Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Do I have a maths learning disability or am I just bad at maths?

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad course - waste of time? 17-10-2016

Not quite sure where to post this.. sorry if I posted in the wrong section.

Basically for years, I've struggled with maths. I've always been behind the rest of the class when it came to lessons, with some rare exceptions where I was good at some questions because I finally understood all the steps.

I can't do basic mental maths, as in even something like 7 + 5 or 9 + 4 takes me to get my fingers to count. I know the maths rules and all, because I did pay attention in class and had maths tuition so I'm okay with stuff like the maths symbols.

However, I don't know measurements very well, and I'm not good with maps, I can't tell how long 5 km or even 1 mile in my head to picture it on the road. I struggle to figure out what 35 ml is or 9 pounds. I also could only read digital time for a while until people taught me how to read the time on the clock, and it still takes me a moment to count the minutes.

I struggle with counting money sometimes and there have been moments where I've even used my toes in situations where I needed to calculate or count something. I really can't do it mentally.

I know I should go check up by myself instead of posting online, but I really want other people's opinions first. Am I just really bad at maths or do you think I might have dyscalculia? I mean, are there people like me who are bad at maths but they don't have a learning disability?

This is like looking into a mirror. Seriously I'm terrible at maths. I have the same finger counting things, addition multiplication subtraction none of it comes mentally easy to me and physical working out takes some time for multiplication and division. It's quite embarrassing in socials situations I know, BELIEVE me.