Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Law Career With Zero Qualifications

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

I posted this in the Thinking of Studying Law subforum but I didn't notice that its rather inactive. I hope its okay that I post it here. Sorry if its not.

Okay so I'll jump right in. I am 21 and due to issues as a teenager (15-19) I currently do not possess any qualifications. I currently work as a labourer but I feel I have not lived up to my potential. I have been looking at qualifications, degrees and careers for a while now as I save money to fund them. I've narrowed it down to a few I see as things I would enjoy or maybe give me the best career progression. Law is obviously one of those paths I'm thinking of but first I need to do some research into each of these choices I have a few questions regarding my options and pathways into the legal sector.

I haven't quite decided which direction in the legal world I'd like to go but I'm guessing they all start with a degree. I have setup an appointment with a learndirect centre to take an assessment and hopefully receive my level 2s. I am pretty confident I can pass these with a little revision. After I plan on enrolling on an access to HE law diploma and then on to university for a LLB degree. So to my questions.

1.Is this the best pathway I can choose to land a job

2.If so how will my lack of GCSEs and A-levels affect my career prospects in the Legal sector. I understand that Pupilage and Training contracts are very hard to land but will they look negatively on the equivalents even if I achieve a good degree.

3.Is a Law degree even worth me taking without the aforementioned qualifications and just equivalents. Banking and Finance is also a career field I am looking at, I heard law degrees are quite respected in that sector too. Thanks