The Student Room Group

From BAD to AAAaa---A student's tale

Hello. If you are reading this, you have either a) come across a file on my secured computer without my permission or b) come across my blog/journal, which I have published online and/or on paper for your reading pleasure. I am going to commit fatal error and presume beyond peradventure that you suit the latter category. If I am correct, please grab a sweetened yet cool drink, and allow me to introduce this journal.
As an ‘average’ (by national standards) GCSE student, scoring only 4 As, 5 Bs, and 2 Cs, I felt myself more-or-less just equipped to reach, at the very least, good grades in four mountainous A-levels. These were Mathematics, English Literature, Computer Science, and Physics. My English Literature was meant to be Further Mathematics, but, due to reasons which I am loath to type , I could not find myself studying that expansion of Mathematics (at the start of the year, by any account). Thus, I was a student of both Mathematics and Literature, which caused some—shall we say—remarks, from other students who were, ironically enough, resitting their first year of Advanced Levels due to sheer failure. Anyhow, as an A Grade Literature student at GCSE, I thought nothing could go wrong! My teachers who would guide me through the course were nice, and helpful when required. My Mathematics teacher was of great use to me, and massively helped me in that course. One of my Physics teachers helped me as much as they could, however I simply could not/cannot fathom electrical circuits’ mathematics. Therefore, I felt Physics crumble beneath my feet.
Skip a year, and now I sit, typing this journal. I opened my results envelope, and the results spelt out ‘BAD’. A B in Mathematics, an A in English Literature, and a D in Physics. This, to me, is not good. I am henceforth changing this ‘BAD’ to ‘AAAaa’. Where did the other two ‘a’s come from? I hear you ask. Allow me: