Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Have I made a mistake by CHOOSING to resit first year?

Announcements Posted on
Four hours left to win £100 of Amazon vouchers!! Don't miss out! Take our short survey to enter 24-10-2016

I started uni last year September and I'm studying Accounting and Finance. Prior to starting uni I had been diagnosed with anxiety, depression and BDD. I feel like going to a uni far away from my home on my own made my anxiety worse and I found my first year of uni really overwhelming. I struggled to settle in and my head was all over the place. Then in around March time I had somewhat of a mental/nervous breakdown and was admitted into a hospital, then transferred into a mental health unit where I stayed for over a fortnight.

However, since then, I feel that I am in a better place mentally. I am on medication that improves the symptoms of my mental disorders, and I have also gained a more positive perspective on things through maturity and therapy. I turned 20 last week.

My uni welfare tutor had a meeting with me and suggested me deferring my exams until the summer period or choosing to take a break and do first year again. I chose the latter.

However now I'm starting to regret this choice I made some friends who will now be progressing to second year who I will miss lots. I'm already behind because I took a gap year for mental health reasons in Year 12 so this means that I will now be 2 years behind. The module exams I had before the summer exams I had passed all of them, and now I'll have to do it all over again and not even because I failed it .