Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

MA in International Relations - Development focus

Announcements Posted on
Would YOU be put off a uni with a high crime rate? First 50 to have their say get a £5 Amazon voucher! 27-10-2016

Hi guys, I'm hoping to do a MA in International Relations with a focus on development/ humanitarian intervention, does anyone have any recommendations? I've looked through the modules of various universities but haven't been able to find one which focuses on that.

There are also many sticky issues that limit my options. I have no relevant academic background; I have a decent 2:2 in Psychology. Most of the universities are asking for 2:1 and related academic background. Even though I have completed a few social science research modules at BA level and have 2 years of working experience somewhat related to security, it looks like I will be required to take a pre-masters, which will strain my budget as an international student. Preference in focus aside, I have shortlisted the following unis which I might have a chance of getting into - University of Groningen (International Relations and International Organisation), Aberystwyth University, University of Limerick (International Studies), and a local uni back home.

Any recommendations or advice will be greatly appreciated!

The 2.2 limits your options and may rule out LSE and some European programmes. There are some other good MSc IR with DEV concentrations. You should be OK with a psychology degree, it is after all Social Sciences and IR is an interdisciplinary master's. your 2 yr career related with security will be an asset as IR admissions like experience. I have seen MSc IR students with less related undergrad degrees in philosophy or English Lit.