Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Do I stand a chance?

University Navigation

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

Hello there! . I'm a senior student in High School in Lithuania. My dream for many years was to study Electronics and Electrical Engineering at University of Edinburgh, and I was quite certaint I could do that. But as I am starting my last year of High School I'm starting to get worried, if I'm good enough.

I was 13 years old when I picked up electronics as a hobby. Over 5 years I have learned a lot, made many projects, designed my own schematics, PCBs, diagnosed them and more. For the past couple years I even started making money out of it. I love it, and just want to learn more, and get deeper into it. Thats why I would love to study at University of Edinburgh.

Now as for academical results, I'm not bad. I study at quite great gymnasium, and I'm great at maths, physics, IT and chemistry. Although I'm quite lazy, it's easy for me to understand those subjects. I guess I am just one of those persons who can not study at all for the test and nail it. It's usually enough for me to pay attention in class to learn the subject. I have also won some competitions in physics, math and chemistry.

As far as English goes, I'm great at reading and listening, but my bad side is writing and maybe talking. My biggest problem is vocabulary. I can only learn words if I'm using them. I can force myself learn new words, but if I don't use them for say few weeks, I forget them, it's a hopeless case. Anyway...

Edinburgh's minimum requirements for students from my country is:

Award of Brandos Atestatas with 9/10 in all Year 12 subjects to include three subjects at extended A (isplestinis) level plus three state exams at 85/100 to include required subjects.

And typical offer: