Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

FPAS applications- Advice

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016
REMINDER: Do not post your personal statement on TSR, otherwise you may have to rewrite it from scratch. Click here for more info. 12-10-2016

Hi I've just started my 5th year (not final) and I was wondering if I could get some first hand experience about applying for foundations schools and what my chances are realistically to getting into the South East schools.*

I'm currently in the 8th decile (but my marks for this year will also come into play) so my EPM is looking around 35ish? *I have a 2:1 BSc so that's about 3 marks and from the sounds of the SJT can be fairly unpredictable.*

Could I get into a London foundation school or Oxford? And is it worth me applying for an academic programme as this is something I'm interested in but am worried my EPM is too low.*

Also once you get accepted into a foundation school I've heard jobs are allocated according to your academic performance? If so am I better off applying somewhere else where it's less competitive?*

I was 10th decile, remember the deciles are such a tiny part of your overall score that it's almost not worth worrying about them.

If you work at your SJT you can easily get a score good enough for some of the London schools.

I have been doing some serious number crunching on this to work out my own chances of getting into my preferred deanery. Good fun if you are mathematically or statistically inclined. I am working with the assumptions that the SJT is mostly random, SJT scores should be similar this year to previous years, and none of these deaneries will change in popularity significantly for next year

So you seem to be assuming you'll finish in the ninth decile. That's cool, we'll work with that assumption. And you get 3 extra points for your degree so your EPM is 38.