Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Economics/Finance at Edinburgh/Glasgow

Announcements Posted on
Would YOU be put off a uni with a high crime rate? First 50 to have their say get a £5 Amazon voucher! 27-10-2016

Hi there, guys.

First of, I am a Scottish student, therefore I studied Highers as opposed to A-levels, so therefore I will start by saying that the 'expected offer' grades for the two aforementioned universities are AAAAA and AAAAAA to study Economics.

At school, I achieved 7 A grades at higher (including economics), 1 C grade in Maths (perhaps this will be held against me in applications...), and 1 advanced higher C grade in a science.

I was actually at university last year studying biological sciences at Edinburgh, but very early on decided that I should've stuck with my gut and studied a degree in Economics/Finance. Perhaps naively, I stuck with it, and ended up failing my first set of exams, and not sitting the second as I left. I was the textbook case of a 'False Start Year'.

Recently I phoned every university in Scotland, and they said that it should not be held against me in my applications this year. In the meantime, I'm studying an accounting course at college to add another qualification to my name.

Despite being told this, however, I'm incredibly anxious, and it really is keeping me up at night being worried about getting rejected from university because I made the wrong choice - I have the grades for these courses, surely I can't get shown the door because I left before.

My question therefore is this - does anybody have any experience of a similar situation? Has it ever been held against them? And more generally, is there anything that I can do to improve my application to give myself as good a chance as I possibly can?
Write a reply…

Submit reply

Thanks for posting! You just need to create an account in order to submit the post
  1. this can't be left blank