Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How do you stop comparing yourself/work to others when its affecting your outlook?

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad? Are they even worth it? Have your say! 26-10-2016

How do you realistically go about stopping comparing yourself, and most importantly your work to other peoples?

I am a designer and always compare my work to other peoples. I have loads of absolutely talented friends and acquaintances whom produce work that is of professional standard. I just can't seem to have that gloss about my work that they do. I am not as talented, but have worked hard over the years to acquire skills, although over the last year or two I've not kept up and sort of fallen behind.

I know that my work could be better, and no matter how hard I try I just can't get it to that level. My work is pretty basic and minimalistic and flat. I do actually prefer my work this way, but it is pretty standard when you look at it in the grander scheme.

My anxiety and lack of self belief runs much deeper than just making comparisons, I guess I was never academic in school (other than when it involves my subject) and although I finished university I just feel so demotivated at keeping up.

I am trying to find work in industry, but the pressure to find a job and be better than just 'good' is difficult to compete with.

How can I learn not to compare and have a better outlook. Please note: I am currently on medication for anxiety and depression and seeking help.

I feel that I can give you some words of wisdom as I have recently been there and actually managed to come out the other side feeling much better and more in control.