Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Questions about visas- RCVS exam

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

Hi everybody,

I'm a vet from Bosnia and Herzegovina who would like to come in UK to take RCVS exam and hopefully get a vet job.

Since I am not EU citizen and my faculty is not RCVS approved I am aware that I would have to sit and pass RCVS exam.

My questions are all about visas for UK. I already visited gov.uk website to see what type of visa would be most appropriate for my case. I could not find any that suits my needs.

- I cannot apply for Tier 2 visa because I am not highly qualified in UK. That means I cannot search for a job as a vet.

- Tier 4 visa is also not for my case because it requires CAS number which I cannot have because I would be on some kind on EMS in UK with veterinary practices not vet schools (so I wouldn't be university student)

- Tier 5 visa is for some other countries (not for mine) and for young people below 30 yrs (I am little older than that..).

- I am not permitted to work anything (even voluntarily) on standard visitor visa and that would be essential because I would have to support myself while preparing for exam.

- I don't have relatives there so I can't ask for a family visa.

I cannot even plan to move in UK without this big issue solved...

I would really appreciate any help with this matter.

That sounds like a tricky situation. May I suggest that you post this in the international study forum? I know it's specific to vet med, and the international section is primarily for UK students planning on studying elsewhere, but this section doesn't get a huge amount of traffic and someone in the international section might know a bit more about Visas.