The Student Room Group

I have no way of getting a reference for job i mentioned in cv

I'm really nervous now and asking for advice. I qualified as a social worker last month and have a job interview for a permanent position. I was so excited to get an interview and started studying until I realised something.

I worked as a support worker for almost two years at a charity that is government led/funded. I put my job down and always have my old boss as a reference. However, she has since changed her number. So I had no choice but to give the company number instead. Only problem is I have found out that I was only employed through a job centre scheme and therefore don't show up as an employee. I contacted the job centre and they said they couldn't give a reference so I deleted the job off my cv. It's almost 5 years ago since I had he job and I have much more relevant experience. As a social worker an employee is really only interested in my year placement at a social services department.

To my horror I've realised I've kept my old job on my cv! I'm gutted now and don't know what to do. My interview is in a few days.

My two references are my old managers but they are allowed check all details.

What should I do?
Check linkedin perhaps?
The chances are they won't contact all your old employees and if they do they will probably just contact you to say they can't get a reference and you can explain what happened. If you have several glowing references they should understand the situation with the last one.
Original post by Anonymous
I'm really nervous now and asking for advice. I qualified as a social worker last month and have a job interview for a permanent position. I was so excited to get an interview and started studying until I realised something.