Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Am I normal?

Announcements Posted on
Four hours left to win £100 of Amazon vouchers!! Don't miss out! Take our short survey to enter 24-10-2016

First of all, I get the we are all unique and special ********. Second if this sounds arrogant or anything like that, I'm genuinely sorry.
    So I'm 16, male and started sixth form last week and I've noticed I'm completely different from everyone else.

Like, they all talk about football and sport and idk gaming and I obviously don't follow those things. I genuinely have no interest in them.

If you were to ask me my hobbies here they are.
    • reading- i can easily get engrossed in a good book but my tastes aren't normal. I read classics, like I read War and Peace before Harry Potter, no one reads more advanced texts in my 6th form. I doubt many people have even heard of the titles/authors of said books.
    • music- classical to be exact. I started learning the clarinet as from 8, moved on to the piano and violin too. the thing is if I were to show anyone in my 6th form they would probably laugh in my face. I love going to the Royal Opera house too, but imagine me on a monday morning being like yep I went to see the Barber of Seville- it was amazing I don't think many people would be particularly interested.
    • learning- pathetic I know- but I love learning languages, over the summer I had a stab at learning Russian and it probably was the thing i enjoyed the most. I'm the only one in my entire 6th form that likes learning languages.
    To me, this doesn't sound like a 16 year old boy's hobbies. I should like football and gaming and rap music. idk. it's not like I don't have friends but I don't seem to connect to them like I feel like I should. Even the teachers have noticed this- I appreciate it, they treat me like an adult which i haven't noticed them doing with other student