Just one sec...
Hey! Sign in to get help with your study questionsNew here? Join for free to post

How to improve at Maths Challenge

Announcements Posted on
Take our short survey, £100 of Amazon vouchers to be won! 23-09-2016

ReputationRep:
    We were never given them at school but this year (AS) at college we are participating and I'm not very good at the problems so far

How might I go about getting better at them?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Athematica)
    We were never given them at school but this year (AS) at college we are participating and I'm not very good at the problems so far

How might I go about getting better at them?
    Practice and learn from the solutions.

ReputationRep:
    Don't do it fam
    First maths challenge I knew nothing about it, was told on the day and got a bronze
    Second maths challenge, found some past papers and got golds, did the actual paper, got stressed out, got a bronze again. Dem feels.

But nah obviously like with any other test you will become better by looking at previous questions (provided you do not put too much pressure on yourself like I did). In general every question has a, generally fairly cheap, "trick". You will become better at spotting them through practice.
    (well, this is perhaps true of questions past the first ten or so, those early questions tend to be rudimentary, while 10-15 is a little weirder, and 15+ is the actual testing part)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 13 1 20 8 42)
    Don't do it fam
    First maths challenge I knew nothing about it, was told on the day and got a bronze
    Second maths challenge, found some past papers and got golds, did the actual paper, got stressed out, got a bronze again. Dem feels.