Just one sec...
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Can I get Into ICL With No Further Maths And A Sub Par Personal Statement?

University Navigation

Announcements Posted on
Take our short survey, £100 of Amazon vouchers to be won! 23-09-2016

ReputationRep:
    I really want to do computing at ICL and i am self teaching Further Maths so that i have a better chance, but if it fails can i get into ICL with a qualification in Pure Mathematics possibly ending up with the following grades:
    A* (Pure Mathematics)
    A* (Physics)
    A* (Chemistry)

If all i had to mention on my Personal Statement (among other things) at the moment of application was that i created an app/game and self taught Pure Mathematics could i get into ICl?

ReputationRep:
    If you meet the entry requirements and otherwise have a strong application you will be fine.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by alleycat393)
    If you meet the entry requirements and otherwise have a strong application you will be fine.
    From my knowledge that is not always the case with ICL. My brother applied for Computing there with:

A* (Maths)
    A* (Further Maths)
    A* (Chemistry)
    B (Physics)

They rejected him even though the entry requirements were A*AAA (A* in Maths). He got a remark, and gladly moved up to an A in Physics and was then accepted by the Uni. With such competition is it possible for me to get into ICL with no Further Maths, an average Personal Statement and straight A*'s?

A* (Maths/Pure Mathematics)
    A* (Physics)
    A* (Chemistry)

ReputationRep: