Just one sec...
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

NI number and Bank Account

Announcements Posted on
Take our short survey, £100 of Amazon vouchers to be won! 23-09-2016

ReputationRep:
    Hi there,

I have been approved for the Postgraduate Student Loan and am due to receive it on 26 th September, however I have not a bank account set up yet (in the process of doing so though) and I have not yet received my NI number( which I am also in the process of getting)

I am an EU student and I checked my account on the postgradaute loan website and it says 'blocked' what does this mean? please tell me I won't have to apply again and as an EU citizen do I stil l need the NI number before I can get the loan payments (as I understand this can take weeks to get and my interview is not until 1st October)

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

As an EU student you are required to provide a national insurance number. We do however need bank details before payments are released, this may be why they are blocked. You do not need to apply again however there are several reasons why your payments may be blocked therefore I would advise you to call us on 0300 100 0607 in order for us to view your account and check why this is.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Carly SFE)
    Hi,

As an EU student you are required to provide a national insurance number. We do however need bank details before payments are released, this may be why they are blocked. You do not need to apply again however there are several reasons why your payments may be blocked therefore I would advise you to call us on 0300 100 0607 in order for us to view your account and check why this is.

Thanks