Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Living in a flat or a student accomodation?

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad? Are they even worth it? Have your say! 26-10-2016

Hi guys, just wanted to ask for an opinion of people who are already in uni. I'm an international student, and I'm going off to university next year, either one in London or Oxford. It seemed natural to me that I was going to live in a flat on my own, but one of my friends who studied in one of London unis said that you will be better off to live in an accommodation for the first year, so you get to know people and that if you live on your own from the first year you will barely know anyone at your uni.
    Is this true? Did anyone live on their own and experienced anything like it? Isn't it better for your study to live in a flat, as you won't get so easily distracted? I would appreciate any experiences or opinions shared. :angelwings:

it's definitely going to be easier to study in a flat by yourself, halls are notoriously loud and disruptive - but it's also going to be lonelier, especially if you're an international student it could already be harder to make friends, being isolated and unhappy also wouldn't help you study

I don't know where you're from and what you want but some middle ground could be private halls, international specific halls or joining a flatshare with other students - all these would help you meet more people without being quite as loud and crazy as a normal first eyar hall
Write a reply…

Submit reply

Thanks for posting! You just need to create an account in order to submit the post
  1. this can't be left blank
    that username has been taken, please choose another Forgotten your password?
  2. this can't be left blank
    this email is already registered. Forgotten your password?
  3. this can't be left blank

6 characters or longer with both numbers and letters is safer

4. this can't be left empty