Just one sec...
Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Will previous applications to a company hurt my present chances?

Announcements Posted on
Take our short survey, £100 of Amazon vouchers to be won! 23-09-2016

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

To start, I am applying to several consultancy firms this autumn and aside from not being a business grad/having a consulting internship, I think I'm otherwise a pretty good candidate. I have a first class degree from Oxford, an internship at Department of Business, and several university projects I've been involved in.

However - I'm really worried that previous applications to certain firms will hurt my chances with them. My situation is a bit complicated - I basically applied to grad jobs/internships at firms last year (I just graduated) because I felt a lot of pressure from university and my social group to go into that career. At the time I had very little experience so wasn't really qualified, and also didn't have the motivation for it that I've now built up. So I applied anyway, but annoyingly the applications were wasted since I didn't have the credentials I do now and didn't really want the roles at the time - so all my applications were understandingly rejected or withdrawn by myself.