The Student Room Group

GCSE History how to answer "how far do you agree" questions?

Hi everyone,

I'm doing GCSE History (AQA) at the moment, and I'm currently doing my coursework. The question is on German women in 1934-1945, and its a "how far do you agree with this statement" question.
I'm not that good at structuring essays anyway, but this has totally flummoxed me!
Can anyone help me by just giving me a couple of hints to start and finish my essay? Also, using sources are difficult, so if you could give me some tips that would be fabulous.

Thank you!
Reply 1
Original post by champion13
Hi everyone,

I'm doing GCSE History (AQA) at the moment, and I'm currently doing my coursework. The question is on German women in 1934-1945, and its a "how far do you agree with this statement" question.
I'm not that good at structuring essays anyway, but this has totally flummoxed me!
Can anyone help me by just giving me a couple of hints to start and finish my essay? Also, using sources are difficult, so if you could give me some tips that would be fabulous.

Thank you!

I think with questions like that, if you were to say, I agree/disagree to a certain extent, you have to show why you haven't agreed/disagreed to a full extent ie. what makes you reconsider, or what evidence is there on the other side of the argument, the one that you are not making - it is more a discussion I feel as oppose to you trying to prove a point, however I only took History to Year 9, but that's what I can remember. Hope this helps
Reply 2
Start by analysing both arguements for/against the proposition. Critique them both and compare/contrast a bit whilst leading with the answer you believe is correct according tothe availible data.
they're jolly easy once you get going)

As for sources... try and use primary ones more than any other. You can cherry pick to a degree the content to fit your arguement to. As for referencing i've yet to meet a teacher who checks that oits wholly accurate..