Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Is this MArch course right for me? I have left it very late to make a decision...

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad? Are they even worth it? Have your say! 26-10-2016

I have just enrolled onto a Masters of Architecture course, after working for a year in practice, back at the university where I studied my Bachelors.

This is the logical next step and I think my decision was initially made because it's the expected thing to do for qualification.

A bit of background: my final year of my bachelors degree was horrendous, I struggled with the increasingly theoretical and artistic approach to architecture. There was a lot of riddle talking and 'investigatory work' which made it feel like we weren't really being taught anything. It ended up with a few students making a formal complaint and the tutors being let go, we were all given an uncapped resubmission. I got a 2:1 and was over the moon, starting a job a couple of weeks later.

I'm quite a practical person, most likely due to my upbringing, I like logical thinking and the application of architecture in the real world. I've loved working because of this, I feel like I'm contributing to the built environment and not just talking about it.

Fast forward to yesterday and I had introduction presentations to the studios available for MArch and I seriously felt like it was three hours of riddles. I struggled to grasp exactly what their briefs were, and their exact relevance. The course head made a speech and I was very confused about the end goal of what he was trying to say. They were talking about print making and bronze casting more than actual buildings.