The Student Room Group

What to write on CV when you have no work experience?

I'm a recent graduate from uni in Computing and now looking for jobs but I don't know what to write in experience part as I have not worked before. I have however repaired and upgrade computers, mobile phone screens and gaming consoles for friends and family in my spare time but since I started uni, I bought a car and been self employed offering mobile mechanic and valeting services as in my spare time during university, I was just spending money on my car to build it and also learnt mechanical skills along. It's not related to computers but I was wondering whether it would be ok to put this on CV?
Reply 1
What's the role that your applying for? If it's anything technical, I'd definitely include it, and if you're struggling to fill it up anyway, I'd put it in regardless. The thing with CVs is that you should be able to justify why you did something and what you got out of it rather than just listing experiences. If you just say you did it, it won't have much of an impact. If you can say that it taught you how to handle an independent project, manage your own time, express your creativity, take responsibility for your own learning, gain practical experience to complement your academic qualifications, then it could make your CV a winner.
Reply 2
Original post by h4mza
I'm a recent graduate from uni in Computing and now looking for jobs but I don't know what to write in experience part as I have not worked before. I have however repaired and upgrade computers, mobile phone screens and gaming consoles for friends and family in my spare time but since I started uni, I bought a car and been self employed offering mobile mechanic and valeting services as in my spare time during university, I was just spending money on my car to build it and also learnt mechanical skills along. It's not related to computers but I was wondering whether it would be ok to put this on CV?