Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Imperial college? Do i stand any chance?

University Navigation

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016

Hi there, I am studying lvl 3 BTEC Extended diploma in Applied science. What are the odds of being accepted onto the MSci Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry and a Year in Industry at Imperial college. FYI, I am predicted all 3D*. My main question is what else could I do to set myself apart and maybe given consideration (I haven't called up uni yet but they do accept btec lvl3 ext dip). Most of you are probably thinking that I know nothing because I'm doing a BTEC. Let me tell you something I know pretty much everything you guys study too at alevel as well. I have a lot of friends who are at A2 chemistry predicted As and I can guarantee you they hardly know how to set up a redox experiment by themselves and do a lab report style after,without practise and instruction. Maybe not all bio, but there's a unit of biochemistry I am studying. I think its unfair to have a mentality and generalise the that a level students have better priority and potential over btec students that are doing my course . Our lecturer has a PhD in chemistry, he inspires us and is very passionate about his profession, he tells us anything is possible with hard work and passion. I bet you some/most try hard A2 chem students will not be able to identify and name a isomer of an organic compound*. Or even tell me what makes an acid acidic**(I laugh when I do this, very entertaining listening to the responses I get XD) ,
    but before we get into a never ending debate about whether btec applied science is the same level a Alevel standard, lets get back to my main question. I really want to study at imperial college, I think that maybe, just maybe I could get in. maybe its too late to get more work experience or friggin join mensa, but never say never.