Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

EU student loan conditions

Announcements Posted on
Would YOU be put off a uni with a high crime rate? First 50 to have their say get a £5 Amazon voucher! 27-10-2016

I am a EU student who completed an undergraduate course in the UK in July 2015 and I am now thinking about going back to uni next year to do a Masters.

Would I be eligible for the postgraduate loan that helps cover living costs?

I remember not being eligible for it during my undergraduate or even the last year of my undergraduate when I last inquired about it because I had to have been in the UK for 3 years to be considered a UK resident, and when applying for the loan in my final year, this was not the case (it would have been the case by the time I finished though, bummer)

Thanks in advance, hope to hear a satisfying response.

Your nationality or residency status
    You can get the Postgraduate Loan if all of the following apply:
    • you’re a UK or EU national, or have ‘settled status’, so there are no restrictions on how long you can stay
    • you normally live in England, and didn’t move there just to study
    • you’ve been living in the UK, the Channel Islands or the Isle of Man for 3 years before starting your course

You may also be eligible if you’re an EU national and all the following apply:
    • you’re living in England on the first day of the first year of your course
    • you’ve normally lived in the European Economic Area or Switzerland for the past 3 years (this is also known as being ‘ordinarily resident’)
    • you’ll be studying at a university or college in England

You could also be eligible if you’re:
    • the child of a Swiss national
    • the child of a Turkish worker
    • a refugee or a relative of one
    • an EEA or Swiss migrant worker, or a relative of one
    • under humanitarian protection or a relative of someone who has been granted it