Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

My few questions about a doctor's career concerning the salary and research possibli

Announcements Posted on
Why bother with a post grad? Are they even worth it? Have your say! 26-10-2016
REMINDER: Do not post your personal statement on TSR, otherwise you may have to rewrite it from scratch. Click here for more info. 12-10-2016

I'm an high school student and am set on medicine. I will most likely apply to UK and aim for the top uni's (Oxbridge, UCL, Imperial, Newcastle(at least i heard its one of the top medical schools in uk atm), etc ..). I had my eye set on US(especially due to salaries), but the university fees are too damn high

I'm aware that i currently in high school and way too young to worry about a matter like this, but I like to know things beforehand whether they will apply to my life or not. I'm also aware that the world of medicine and healthcare is evolving and changing rapidly, so the current situation may not be the same when I might enter practice. However, I would still like to ask these questions(sorry for lengthy intro):

These questions are mostly focused on the situation in the UK, but other answers are welcome !

What kind of salary do Medical Grads earn after graduation med school(foundation years and when actually entering practice)? Also, what is the difference between public and private sector, especially in hospitals?

I would most likely want to work in an hospital in surgery/emergency medicine/anaesthesiology or as an cardiologist/oncologist. I'm most interested in the three former specialties(currently biggest desire in surgery) rather than the two latter ones.

I would also like to know if it's possible to do research alongside being a practicing physician. If yes, then to what extent?

Is it possible to move to US after graduating in medicine in the UK, and get into an prestigious residency programme?