The Student Room Group

Help with Top 5

This is my first post on TSR and i have found some on the information around these forums pretty useful. However, i'm still struggling on a few issues with my university choices (all to study History).

My choices are (in rank order)
#1: Manchester (37)
#2: Leeds (35)
#3: Newcastle (35)
#4: Sheffield (32) (Ins)
#5: Exeter (30 - 31) (Ins)

I'm currently studying the International Baccalaureate and i'm predicted 38 points without a possible bonus 3 points (max 41), which is currently succeeding all my offers.

I was primarily looking at Oxbridge or Cambridge then talked myself out of it as I wanted to go to a bustling city instead - which you can probably see in my options.

My top choice is looking to be Manchester at the moment, however i am worried about how good the actual course is. The requirements are very high(37) and the course appears to be good but (and i know you shouldn't really go by this) it comes very low in the majority of subject tables from various sources.

I'm a little confused; at the moment i'm looking at studying Law as a postgraduate and i fear that getting into a good law course afterwards may be difficult if the Manchester course isn't regarded as highly?

Any advice would be highly appreciated!
I always get informed that the institution you choose to study at should not mean that your degree is 'worth' any more. Although I do not always feel this is the case, i believe that it is important to find a balance.

Yes, you want a university with a better reputation but you do not want to sacrifice your contentment whilst you are studying there. I believe that it is more important to be happy studying at the lowest rated university than dreading 3+ years at the best and perhaps limiting your performance in examinations. An employer would obviously choose a better quality degree.