The Student Room Group

I'm rubbish in seminars

I'm in final year of an arts degree and whilst I have been getting a range of firsts and 2.1s on my assignments so far I really struggle to speak up in seminars. I can't think on my feet whereas the majority of people on my course can. I end up looking dumb and there's literally nothing I can do to try and stop this - any time that I do speak up I'm wrong and then feel embarrassed. I need to mull over something for a while or most times a lot of ideas come to when I'm writing my assignment.

Is anyone else like this?
Reply 1
I am the same. I hate talking in seminars and tutorials, because I feel like everything that comes out of my mouth is dumb. :redface:
Are people marked or graded on how they are in seminars?
Original post by markova21
Are people marked or graded on how they are in seminars?

No, lucky for me :redface:
Reply 4
Being wrong is a learning experience. You're going to be wrong quite often in your life and this is a good way of learning that a) it isn't fatal and b) when you pay attention you can take something positive from it. Being corrected is absolutely fine. It's a useful way of learning new things.

I'm a Research Assistant (amongst other things) and I'm still wrong about stuff reasonably often. It's OK. Still alive, still earning, still having a good time.
I relate 100% with you! All my assignments are group based which makes it difficult. I'd much rather work individually as it gives me time to think.
Original post by peanutbuttercup