The Student Room Group

Summer Internship problem!! (Please help!)

I'm currently in my second year of a 3 year course at uni, I want to apply for a summer internship this year to get some relevant work experience.

However, there's a good chance that i'll change course to Meng course with a year in industry after this year making my course 5 years. I am still eligible to apply for summer internships??
Yes, although some employers will be looking for penultimate students specifically, I did one after my 1st year (also MEng). Check the relevant opening for details
Original post by mattdennis
I'm currently in my second year of a 3 year course at uni, I want to apply for a summer internship this year to get some relevant work experience.

However, there's a good chance that i'll change course to Meng course with a year in industry after this year making my course 5 years. I am still eligible to apply for summer internships??

Yes - this is a great opportunity to get an internship earlier than other students! Currently you are officially a penultimate year student, so can apply for most internship opportunities - whereas those already committed to a 5 year course may struggle more. I'd recommend not mentioning your desire to join the 5 year program since there's no guarantee you'll get on it anyway and it may reduce the chances of getting an internship offer. If the company then decides to offer you a job based on your performance over the summer you then have the option to graduate in just three years with a guaranteed job offer or to continue with your plans to transfer to the 5 year course, in which case you can mention this to the company and ask if instead you could do another summer internship/ your placement year with them.*