Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

Possibility of transferring next year?

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016
REMINDER: Do not post your personal statement on TSR, otherwise you may have to rewrite it from scratch. Click here for more info. 11-10-2016

Hi, First year student here. I am studying at the University of East Anglia.

I came here for the course. I enjoy my course immensely but I don't particularly have much to say in terms of positives about my experiences at this university.

I am not from England (Northern Ireland) and I am finding it too much of a culture shock to be bothered with living here for an extended time period. The people in Southern England are reserved (almost aloof) and that is not something that I am used to, I also find it difficult to know what a person's true intentions are here because they don't make it quite clear. I generally find it quite hard to break into the English culture, I feel that they form cliques groups quickly and stick to their own people. Having Asbergers (although very mild, almost unrecognisable) makes this difficult to deal with.. not knowing a person's true intentions, for example, does not make life easy for me.

It is also quite expensive living here (I have to contend with paying £100 every six weeks to go home which is not something I would have to pay at home), living costs are higher; the local shop in the university is a rip off, they charge £3.50 for a Fillet Burger as an example - although this can be negated by going to the Tesco Express. One thing that I find irritating is the bus system, while it is fairly good they do not accept cash cards for payment so I have to take out £10 from the ATM machine every time I go on the bus. The Lower fees (£3,500 v £9,000) are something which are definitely enticing me to going back home.