The Student Room Group

4 A2 Levels?

Hey,
I am currently a Year 11 student picking my A Level options. I've decided I want to study Maths, Physics, Economics and Computer Science. My question is how difficult is it to study 4 A2 subjects? Would it be similar to keeping up with so many GCSE subjects or will it take up even more of my time?
I have already completed 5 GCSEs. 2 in Year 9 and 3 in Year 10. Results are as follows, followed by predicted grades for the subjects I'll be sitting this year:

Achieved:
A* Arabic (Year 9)
A ICT (Year 9)
A* Biology (Year 10)
A* Geography (Year 10)
B French (Year 10)

Predicted:
8 English
8 English Literature
9 Maths
A* Chemistry
A* Physics
A* Business Studies
A* Statistics
(edited 7 years ago)
It's doable if you're highly organised.

However, there is no reason to do it. Universities will only judge you on your three best subjects. Taking four subjects would increase your chances of failure.
Reply 2
Original post by Abstract_Prism
It's doable if you're highly organised.

However, there is no reason to do it. Universities will only judge you on your three best subjects. Taking four subjects would increase your chances of failure.

Why do some people take 4 A2 then?
Original post by 12hamadin

We are rebels :tongue:

Jk. My fourth is Further Maths and I take it because my school doesn't offer it so I have to self teach. Also, the workload is okay for me to handle and maths + fm is basically one subject anyway. In year 13 btw
I wish I had taken 4 A2s. What actually happened was I took 4 ASs in year 12 (AAAB - maths further maths, physics and german) and then three A2s (A*A*A* - maths, further maths, physics) and two ASs (AA - chemistry and additional further maths) in year 13, so I ended up with 6 ASs and 3 A2s.