Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free to post

How do you write a PDP?

Announcements Posted on
TSR's new app is coming! Sign up here to try it first >> 17-10-2016
REMINDER: Do not post your personal statement on TSR, otherwise you may have to rewrite it from scratch. Click here for more info. 12-10-2016

I'm a second year medical student, and we're being told that we have to write PDPs throughout our time at med school, but haven't even been told what they are. Can any one explain to me how to write them, what should be put in them etc.

Usually stands for Personal Development Plan. Unless you love this kind of thing and get more out of it than I do (so feel inclined to take it very seriously and come up with some kind of high level extra special learning points), I would say they are a box ticking exercise in which you make a bullet pointed list of things you want to 'develop' (also known as three or so things you were going to do anyway e.g. such gems as 'learn about respiratory conditions during my respiratory medicine placement' and 'improve history taking skills [during this placement where I have to take patient histories]'. You then say how you are going to do them - detailed plans such as 'turn up to respiratory clinic' and 'take some patient histories'. Then at the end you can go 'hey look I did these things wow I have developed as a person yay! Thank god I made that personal development plan without which I would be lost and probably have just sat like a mute shell of a person concentrating mostly just on my own breathing' and so on...

You have to do them as a Foundation trainee (and doubtless beyond). Huge time waste IMO but if you pick some incredibly obvious things you are like 99% likely to do anyway in the normal course of things, you can't get caught out by them at the end with somebody telling you you've not 'met' the random list of objectives you came up with early on.