The Student Room Group

Want to quit

Hey!

So I've been playing tennis for almost 8 years now and have spent so much time and money into the sport. I just don't seem to enjoy the sport anymore( have been feeling this for almost a year now- just didn't want to go for coaching sessions, etc). I'm in year 11 now so it's hectic with my tennis and other extra curriculars going on. Should I quit the sport? How do I tell my parents that I want to quit the sport?

Reply 1
"Mum, Dad, I am quitting tennis."

If further explanation is required, you could say something like "I've been playing for almost 8 years now and have spent so much time and money into the sport. I just don't seem to enjoy the sport anymore( have been feeling this for almost a year now- just didn't want to go for coaching sessions, etc). I'm in year 11 now so it's hectic with my tennis and other extra curriculars going on".
I was in a similar position to you but with badminton instead of tennis. Although I began to hate it, I carried it out until the end of year 11. Towards the end it became a real drag, but I had been playing for 9 years and I was in the local team and things. I felt this obligation to carry on, but I knew it wasn't making me happy. So in the end I quit. I told my mum "I've lost my passion and I don't feel it is for me anymore". To my relief she was happy with the decision and said I should focus on my studies and move on. 10 months down the line and I don't regret regret the decision at all, I have so much more free time now. I even have time to meet up with my friends (something I never used to do much of).

If you don't enjoy tennis then give it up is my best advise!
No need to please others their joy...
Reply 4
Original post by db10
"Mum, Dad, I am quitting tennis."