The Student Room Group

Self study 3 A Levels in 1 year?

Im extremely lost, would appreciate any help!

I'm in my twenties, I didn't have any GCSEs in 2015, something that has always bothered me; so starting in September I self taught GCSE Maths and English using an Edexcel revision guide.

I got a B in English and an A* in Maths. Having really enjoyed the Maths part, I've decided to move up to A level.

I'd like to pursue university, but first, A level maths, further maths and economics. I'm quite set on the three subjects.

I can cut down my work hours to 25 hours a week. This pays all my bills, just. The rest of the week will be mine to learn.

I'm unsure about a few things though.

How exactly are A level maths, further maths and economics structured? I don't understand the differance between AS, A2 and modules?

Is it possible with the amount of free time I have (35 hours a week) to self study the entirety of the three qualifications in 1 year? Or would you advise 2?

Where can I pay to get myself examined?

I prefer book revision, are there any books you would advise?

I really appreciate any help if you have the time. Thank you.
First, what do you want to study at uni and have you picked the right subjects for it?
The As level is the step up to A level but what you want is the full A level and the recommendation is that you take two years to complete it. You will have to check which boards allow you to do these A levels as a private candidate (i.e no coursework) and where your nearest exam center is that's willing to let you sit the exams. The board will also have recommended revision books.
Reply 2
Original post by alleycat393
First, what do you want to study at uni and have you picked the right subjects for it?

I'd like to do a degree in Maths. I tried to pick subjects with no course work.