The Student Room Group

Am I using correct books

Hello I am going to sit Edexcel International AS Level in Physics, Biology and Chemistry in January 2017 and I have been using the 2015 specification books from hodder education
but my friend is now telling me that I should have used the 2008 specification books for IAL is he right or should i continue using the new 2015 books
Original post by aviator8
Hello I am going to sit Edexcel International AS Level in Physics, Biology and Chemistry in January 2017 and I have been using the 2015 specification books from hodder education
but my friend is now telling me that I should have used the 2008 specification books for IAL is he right or should i continue using the new 2015 books

Your friend is right. The 2015 books match the new uk linear specification, the 2008 books match the current IAL. I don't know how different they are for your subjects.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
I have been studying them for 6 months so does it mean all my hardwork went in vain and I have searched almost every bookstore in my country but only these new books are available, I can't find the old books, I was really aiming for A* but now it seems that I won't even get a C.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
I have been studying them for 6 months so does it mean all my hardwork went in vain and I have searched almost every bookstore in my country but only these new books are available, I can't find the old books, I was really aiming for A* but now it seems that I won't even get a C.

Posted from TSR Mobile

I would imagine that it would not all have been in vain although you may have revised how to answer things differently from how they currently want you to answer them. I would advise looking online for the books you need - plus you can certainly find them for cheaper. Look at the marking guides for the past papers - How does your revision compare to how the marking guides want you to answer them?

Posted from TSR Mobile