The Student Room Group

Is it normal to lie in bed almost all day everyday?

Hi guys,

I'm a second year university student and I find that when I'm not in lectures or getting food or going out with friends (which is a rare occurrence, it happens once a week if that), I'm just lying in bed for the rest of the day watching Netflix or DVDs. I would say that I'm an introvert but I do like going out occasionally. I would say that I only have a couple of real 'friends' at university, and even they don't seem to want to spend too much time with me as they spend more time with other friends. I don't mind spending the day in bed but sometimes it just makes me realise that it doesn't seem like a normal thing to be doing. Although I do get along with my housemates, I'm not really sure that I see them as friends, just acquaintances that I try to avoid. I don't avoid them for any particular reason, I just feel as though I may have social anxiety, although I've never been diagnosed with it, and therefore I'm always upstairs in my bedroom as opposed to downstairs watching TV or doing stuff with them.
So would you say this is normal? Any advice on how I can get out of bed more? Thanks in advance.
Original post by Anonymous
Hi guys,