The Student Room Group

What A-Levels should I pick for a future career in neuroscience?

I am a year 11 GCSE student and it's almost time for me to pick my A-Levels. I am currently swaying towards taking Biology, Chemistry and Medical Science. However, would it be more beneficial for me to take for example Biology, Chemistry and Physics and possibly maths as a fourth? Also if I were to pick Biology Chemisty and Medical Science would it be good for me to do a fourth subject and if so which do you recommend. Thank you.

As a bit of added information to do the neuroscience BSc I need AAA at A-level and Chemistry is required plus one from Biology, Mathematics or Physics.
(edited 7 years ago)
Original post by 2hdr
I am a year 11 GCSE student and it's almost time for me to pick my A-Levels. I am currently swaying towards taking Biology, Chemistry and Medical Science. However, would it be more beneficial for me to take for example Biology, Chemistry and Physics and possibly maths as a fourth? Also if I were to pick Biology Chemisty and Medical Science would it be good for me to do a fourth subject and if so which do you recommend. Thank you.

I don't know about the medical science, I would suggest going the more traditional route most unis look for Chemistry, Bio, Physics and/or a humanitarian subject.
However, you can take it as a 4th for competitiveness, if you think you can perform well.
Reply 2
Thank you, I am considering taking Chemistry, Bio, Physics for entry requirements and medical science as preparation for uni and the world of medicine in general. I understand this is a lot of work and but I'm hoping to do a PhD in neuroscience so the more science the better I suppose.
i'd recommend that you don't take physics without maths, some unis might accept psychology as a science too which ties in with neuroscience
Psychology, biology and chemistry ^-^