The Student Room Group

Best University For Physics

I want to ask you guys & girls what is the best universities to study physics at, I am applying this year to study physics and apart from imperial college what other universities are within thier league of teaching, research etc...
subjects I am studying are
MATHEMATICS
PHYSICS
ECONMICS
I am going to do them all within one year
Home education really and i am going to be 21 soon so what is the Possibility of me getting in to a top end insititute??

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Cambridge (although you'd have to do a variety of sciences in your first year, so your choice of A-levels probably isn't best for it)
Oxford
Durham
Bristol
Warwick
Reply 2
What about Imperial and UCL as well?
Reply 3
Kyle_S-C
What about Imperial and UCL as well?

He already mentioned Imperial, and UCL doesn't exactly have a top reputation for the subject.
Reply 4
bristol. My borther started at 20, 2 years after leaving school even though he had done nothing in that time
The Times rankings which I have linked below are a good indicator. I would probably focus on the quality of research rankings so that excludes Heriot-Watt and St Andrews. Also I believe Nottingham is very well equipped to teach because the department is particularly well off and offers a tutorial system in Physics similar to Oxford and Cambridge (but I may well be wrong on this)

http://extras.timesonline.co.uk/gug/gooduniversityguide.php?AC_sub=Physics+and+Astronomy&sub=27&x=39&y=14
Reply 6
Southampton is one of the best.
Reply 7
Even tho UCL and King's are not in the TOP 10 for physics is it still worth going there and studying physics (They are in the overall 10 top table but not for PHYSICS in general). I mean will future empolyers (investment banking, government work, Top JOBS) look at what university you went to
(Overall Top ten) Or The best university FOR that particular subject even tho it might be say' 40th in the overall league table??
bunthulhu