The Student Room Group

Newbie Q. on CS

hay there, I'm only in year 12 but I have already set my sights on becoming a computer engineer or anythin at all to do with computer hardware/software etc.

My question is what is exactly involved in a computer science degree? is there any designing involved cause i've never written a program in my life but i have done loads of photoshoping and computer maintainence/building etc. what carrer oppertunities lie for me when I get my degree?

for a levels im studying maths,further maths, physics and chemistry so im guessing to drop chem. after the first year and focus on those 3 subjects would be sufficient enough to get me into uni's such as Imperial or UCL, (I dont want to go to a uni outside London so if you can give me any more top uni's in london it would be great!)

thanks for reading :biggrin:
Reply 1
yoshi_105
hay there, I'm only in year 12 but I have already set my sights on becoming a computer engineer or anythin at all to do with computer hardware/software etc.

My question is what is exactly involved in a computer science degree? is there any designing involved cause i've never written a program in my life but i have done loads of photoshoping and computer maintainence/building etc. what carrer oppertunities lie for me when I get my degree?

for a levels im studying maths,further maths, physics and chemistry so im guessing to drop chem. after the first year and focus on those 3 subjects would be sufficient enough to get me into uni's such as Imperial or UCL, (I dont want to go to a uni outside London so if you can give me any more top uni's in london it would be great!)