The Student Room Group

Help - RSPCA Inspector

Hi
I am currently studying animal science degree and am undecided about whether to apply as a graduate to vet med or I am considering applying to become an RSPCA inspector. I wanted some advice on what voluntary work or jobs I could get to demonstrate that I will be able to deal with confrontational situations? As I have been trying to think of something I could do. Any advice or help or if anyone knows someone who is an inspector will be appreciated.
Reply 1
Confrontational situations? That's a hard one! I was a brownie leader for 6 years which taught me much needed leadership and communication skills. I'm not sure they necessarily want someone that can deal with confrontation, they teach you that when becoming a vet or RSPCA inspector, I think it's more about being able to cope with stress and difficult situations when things are coming from all fronts. So in that sense I would recommend something that involves working in a team whilst still having to think on your feet. Working with children will certainly help in that respect :biggrin:

Have you tried going to an RSPCA centre and asking them if you could talk to an inspector?

What year are you in on your current degree?
Reply 2
Thanks for your help.:smile:

I have asked to do work experience with an inspector and they said I couldn't, but i might try ringing my local centre and asking to talk to an inspector.
I am in my first year.
I have thought about volunteering with people, as you need to show good people skills, so I thought that if i volunteer with all different age groups it might help.
How do you become a brownie pack leader?
Reply 3