The Student Room Group
i worked in a school for a year as a performing arts technician, and took further AS-levels, but by all means its not a bad thing, as long as you keep focused on the end goal of reaching uni its great, and you can apply with your actual grades as they stand and target grades for the subjects you are going to be taking, also if you can get part time work within the industry most related to what you want to study at uni it will help boost your uni application.
Yes definately! I got ACU in my Alevels. A and C grades weren't going to get me very far and neither was the U!! I went back for a year and resat the C and the U and in the end I achieved AAB. I have now applied to Cardiff Uni which I could have never dreamed of doing before and everything worked out great. Whats 8 months of your life to make such a difference?
im doing it atm, retakin english lang and another a-level in business...its not frowned upon at all dont worry, some uni's will see it as your eagerness to do well so it could go in your favour
^^^^ Seriously is this not frowned upon by even top uni's (eg. Oxford, Warwick, LSE, Imperial etc) as i was wondering the same thing
as the OP??? :s-smilie:

thanks for any help :smile:
ahhh yeah, oxford cambridge etc will no doubt frown upon it, in my eyes there to strict for things like that, but most unis might well see it as your eager, sheffield, nottingham, manchester etc, i here medicine is strict about gap years but i dont know anyone who does it so cant say for deffo if that is true, i suppose it all depends on the course you want to apply for and the university you want to go to, if you take out the main 5 or so (oxford cam, ucl)even possible durham may question you, but i personally doubt the majority of them will frown
^^^^ bad news for people who won't to go to those uni's though :frown: :frown: :frown:...........
yeah but you never know you might get lucky, either of you applyin to them?