The Student Room Group

Pick A College for me!

I think I'm going to apply to Cambridge instead of Oxford for Modern and Medieval languages in October. Except, I know nothing about Cambridge, and don't know which college to pick. Will you all do it for me?
I'd like to go to a college that is mixed (of course), reasonably big, old and impressive-looking (I'm shallow), quite left-wing (or at any rate, political), one that's got a good social scene, and that isn't incredibly competitive. Obviously, the college I just described may not exist, but which one best fits that description.

Also, where can I find the entry statistics for the course? Is it more or less competitive that it's sister at Oxford.

Do you have to do medieval french if youre studying french? (I ask, because I dont want to spend 3 years translating manuscripts)

(Btw, I'm a scottish student (guy) with 8 '1's, 4As 2Bs at Higher (As in French, Spanish, English, Maths), and i'm doing French, Spanish, History and English at AH this year (Which is A Lot). Also usual stuff about how great I am, play instruments and croquet or whatever, blah blah blah...)

Thanks alot - any advice would be great

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
for MML I would advise Emmanuel....it's really good for that...it's quite big, but not too big, it looks old, it's friendly. Your only downside is it's competitive. But if you want all the other good stuff, you have to put up with one bad side!

Although as ever, I advise you to make the choice for yourself....GO THERE AND LOOK AROUND if you can...you'll know which college is right when you find it!
Reply 2
read some college prospecti (avail online) so if they ask you questions on why u picked that colege you'll be able to say something :tongue:
Reply 3