The Student Room Group
Students on campus, Nottingham University
University of Nottingham
Nottingham
Visit website

got an offer from Nottingham, but worried about crime

Is it true what they say about Nottingham? I am an international student, and got an offer.

People call it Shootingham(girl shot for no reason, policewoman etc.), others speak of loads of beggars, rough areas, stabbings... even about burnt cars, and how they got mugged/someone stole their stuff many times in just few months.

I've also heard many stories about guns, violent beggars... trash on streets...

ONE UK insurer claims that THEFTS are 200+% as likley to happen in Nott compared to average UK. Some say it's worst city to live in... people voted it out.

I haven't accepted the offer yet, but what i want to know- FROM those who live there, attend University, or have been there... what is it really like? I don't want to stay locked up in room being in fear of crime.

Statistics, though, suggest Nottingham has a load of problems from all kinds of crime. Heard once that every week someone was shot, even more in one week:confused:

I'm interested in your input!

Thanks

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
There's really no need to stay locked up in your room because of the crime!
Halls are a big potential target, lots of laptops & stuff available if people wanna break in, but they're also well manned by security & so as long as you're not in a ground floor flat intending to leave your window left open all day when you're not there then you don't need to be overly-anxious.
I know the statistics are high, some parts of Nottingham are rougher than others, as in every city there will be crime. As long as you're aware that you need to take precautions, like keeping your room locked when you're out of your flat & that you don't roam around the streets on your own in the dark then you'll be fine!
Nottingham is a great place, don't let the media alter your perception too much!