The Student Room Group

University, confusion, annoyance!! Help!?

Hullo, well i'm new - so if this is in the wrong place, i apoligise, but im useless with forums.

I'm an art student, doing my BTEC Foundation Diploma at college that bridges the gap for me to get to university. I struggle with my english, for instance, trying to write essays, which sounds crazy considering i can write blogs and these types of things - but i suffer really badly. Im not dyslexic, i just have trouble with it. However, i feel i wont be up to par with other students in uni. I've not done any of the essays for the course im on, nor can i seem to write my personal statement for UCAS.

I'm an artist, not a ... 'deep thinker into things' type. I just make good artwork and get on with it! Not to say im completely stupid, i'd like to think im not.

Anyway, i dont know whether or not to go! My mums also just propositioned me to move abroad to New Zealand with her around 2009 and if thats the case i dont see the point in applying to a uni here now. But im really uncertain!

Can i do i year here, then continue abroad? Or waste a year trying to get a job to save up?

Chuffin confused! :confused:

Help? Advice of some sort would be really appreciated.
what is it that you struggle with, in particular, when it comes to writing essays? you don't necessarily need to be a deep thinker to be good at essays, as long as you put the research in and do the relevant reading and follow the marking criteria guidelines, you can't go far wrong.
as for New Zealand, I think you first need to decide if you are actually going. If you are not, then go to uni as long as it is something that you want to do. If you are going, personally I don't see the point in doing 1 year at university here, you might as well start afresh whilst you are over there.
Reply 3
britishseapower